1869: Positive and Negative Reviews

Explain xkcd: It's 'cause you're dumb.
Revision as of 04:45, 28 July 2017 by Davidy22 (talk | contribs) (Created page with "{{comic | number = 1869 | date = July 28, 2017 | title = Positive and Negative Reviews | image = positive and negative reviews.png | titletext = This restauran...")
(diff) ← Older revision | Latest revision (diff) | Newer revision → (diff)
Jump to: navigation, search
Positive and Negative Reviews
This restaurant is great! I was feeling really sick, but then I ate there and felt better!
Title text: This restaurant is great! I was feeling really sick, but then I ate there and felt better!

Explanation

Ambox notice.png This explanation may be incomplete or incorrect: New page
If you can address this issue, please edit the page! Thanks.

Transcript

Ambox notice.png This transcript is incomplete. Please help editing it! Thanks.


comment.png add a comment! ⋅ comment.png add a topic (use sparingly)! ⋅ Icons-mini-action refresh blue.gif refresh comments!

Discussion

This page is now available for discussions. Sorry for the delay. --Dgbrt (talk) 14:42, 28 July 2017 (UTC)

About the Trivia item "The use of the phrase 'physics tells us...' may be alluding to the way people use 'physics' or 'science' to justify nonsense.", I seriously doubt it. If there were no connection to real physics, this comic would be pretty devoid of content. And lacking much of a joke! I've been figuring that this is referencing SOME aspect of physics and applying it to real life in a silly way. I've been wanting to read about it. There must be something, maybe theorizing about time travel, maybe saying something is measured backwards? I'm reminded of the British sitcom, Red Dwarf, the episode Backwards, where they visit a future Earth where time has turned backwards, so everybody speaks backwards and everything is done backwards (where I learned that "Bitter" backwards sounds like "Erskib"). NiceGuy1 (talk) 05:05, 30 July 2017 (UTC)

Am I the only one that would likely agree with the "backwards" reviewers? Those sorts of sports drinks like Gatorade, etc taste terrible to me, and would likely result in me drinking much more water to rinse out the flavor! The same is true of soda for me. I feel like this comic might also be referencing that aspect, and an absurd attempt to justify considering even the negative reviews positive. 18:54, 30 July 2017 (UTC) 172.68.132.155 (talk) (please sign your comments with ~~~~)

Fridge genius: First I thought if they live backwards, how come they have no numbers attached to their username? It should be something like Merlin99999999999999, just try to register your first name at any popular website even today. Then of course I realized that they would simply create their account as soon as the site goes up (shortly before it goes down, from their perspective), remembering that it was a popular site and having posted there.Ruffy314 (talk) 19:06, 30 July 2017 (UTC)

Um... wouldn't Merlin and Benjamin Button perceive it as regurgitating the drinks? I mean, they perceived the reverse results, so ingesting things should have the same effect. OriginalName (talk) 16:52, 25 August 2017 (UTC)

Merlin in Once and Future King perceives individual "scenes" in his life normally, but they're in reverse order. I haven't read "Benjamin Button". Nitpicking (talk) 20:05, 15 April 2022 (UTC)